# Best crewel embroidery needles for hand embroidery

Source: https://hoopandfloss.com/best/best-hand-embroidery-needles
Publisher: Hoop and Floss. Picks are chosen from what each Amazon listing states, not from hands-on tests. Method: https://hoopandfloss.com/how-we-pick

Hand embroidery needles for surface stitching are crewel needles, also sold simply as embroidery needles: a sharp point to pierce the fabric and a long eye that takes several strands of embroidery floss. They run from size 1 to 12, and a bigger number is a finer needle. As starting points, 1 or 2 strands take a size 9 or 10, 2 or 3 strands a size 7, 3 or 4 strands a size 5 and all six strands a size 3. That is why an assorted pack makes sense for beginners: sizes 3 to 9 cover nearly every strand count, 5 to 10 lean toward finer work, and 9 to 12 are fine needles only. This guide compares crewel needle packs by size range, how the listing describes the eye, stated plating and count per pack. These are hand needles, nothing for embroidery machines, and the comparison rests on the listings: no pack was tested. To choose a size by thread and fabric, see the hand embroidery needle size chart on this site.

## Picks

### 1. Clover Gold Eye Embroidery Needles Size 3-9 - 16 Pack

Sizes: 3 to 9; Count: 16; Eye: Long, gold eye; Finish: not stated

A card of 16 crewel needles covering every size from 3 to 9, with the diameter and length of each size given in the listing. The broadest single pack here for a beginner who is still finding the right size.

What the listing offers:
- The card holds 16 needles: two each of sizes 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7, and three each of sizes 8 and 9.
- The listing gives measurements for every size, from 0.99 x 44.5 mm for size 3 down to 0.53 x 34.9 mm for size 9.
- The needles are described as having long eyes to take one or more threads, and a sharp point.

Limits to know:
- Only two needles of each of the larger sizes, so a lost or bent favorite is quickly used up.
- Beyond the gold eye in the product name, the listing does not state the steel or plating.

### 2. John James Embroidery Needles Assorted Sizes 5/10

Sizes: 5 to 10; Count: 16; Eye: Longer eye; Finish: Nickel plated

16 John James crewel needles in assorted sizes 5 to 10, with a longer eye for stranded cotton. The range leans fine, which suits work in 1 to 4 strands of embroidery floss.

What the listing offers:
- The listing says the longer eye makes these needles suited to threading stranded cotton.
- They are described as the same in length and point as ordinary sewing needles, apart from the eye.
- The needles are stated to be double plated, copper plus nickel, with 16 needles in each pack.

Limits to know:
- The range starts at size 5, so there is no size 3 for stitching with all six strands.
- The listing does not say how many needles of each size are in the pack.

### 3. SINGER Crewel Needles in Dial Compact, Assorted Sized Sewing Needles, Sizes 9, 10, 11, 12, Set of 24

Sizes: 9 to 12; Count: 24; Eye: Long, oval; Finish: Nickel plated

24 fine crewel needles in a dial compact: six each of sizes 9, 10, 11 and 12, color coded by size. A pack for delicate work in 1 to 3 strands, not for thick thread.

What the listing offers:
- The compact holds six needles each of sizes 9, 10, 11 and 12, color coded green, black, blue and red.
- The needles are stated to be high carbon steel with nickel plating.
- The listing describes a long oval eye, a medium shaft and a very sharp point, with eyes that typically take 2 to 3 strands.

Limits to know:
- Fine sizes only: nothing larger than size 9, so it does not cover stitching with 4 to 6 strands.
- Half the pack is sizes 11 and 12, finer than the sizes usually paired with stranded floss.

### 4. John James Embroidery Hand Needles - Size 3/9 16/Pkg

Sizes: 3 to 9; Count: 16; Eye: not stated; Finish: not stated

A pack of 16 John James embroidery hand needles in assorted sizes 3 to 9, the range that covers work from 1 strand up to all six. The listing itself says very little beyond the title.

What the listing offers:
- The title states assorted sizes 3/9, the range that runs from six-strand work down to 1 or 2 strands.
- The pack is stated as 16 needles, the same count as the other John James pack in this guide.
- The needles are titled as John James embroidery hand needles, the crewel type for surface embroidery.

Limits to know:
- The listing has no bullets describing the eye, the plating or how many needles of each size are included.
- Everything known about the pack comes from its title, so check the pack photo before ordering.

### 5. Bohin Crewel Embroidery Needles, Size 3/9, 15 Per Package

Sizes: 3 to 9; Count: 15; Eye: not stated; Finish: not stated

Fifteen Bohin crewel embroidery needles in assorted sizes 3 to 9, with France given as the country of origin. An alternative brand in the same all-round size range.

What the listing offers:
- The package is stated to contain fifteen size 3/9 metal needles.
- The listing names them as crewel embroidery needles and mentions linen embroidery projects.
- The country of origin is stated as France.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not describe the eye or state any plating.
- No breakdown of how many needles of each size is given, and the pack has one needle fewer than the 16-packs.

### 6. John James Crafter's Collection Crewel Embroidery Needles Assorted Sizes

Sizes: Assorted, incl. 3 and 5; Count: not stated; Eye: not stated; Finish: not stated

A John James assortment of crewel embroidery needles sold as a mixed collection for combining crewel yarn and floss in one project. Aimed at thicker thread, with sizes 3 and 5 named in the listing.

What the listing offers:
- The listing states that embroidery sizes 3 and 5 accommodate up to the full 6 strands of embroidery floss.
- It is described as a combination of needles chosen for working crewel yarn and floss together in one project.
- The title names it as a John James crewel embroidery assortment in assorted sizes.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not state how many needles are in the pack.
- Only sizes 3 and 5 are named: the full list of sizes in the assortment is not given.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.